Alpine Garden Society

01386 554790
[ Full list of News ]
[ Printable Version in separate window ]

AGM - Pictures of Award Recipients

Here are some images from the AGM on Saturday, 7 November 2009 -  the new President takes the Chair (pictured centre) with the Treasurer, Colin Smith (right) and the Society Director, Christine McGregor (left).


Professor John Richards - this years proud recipient of The Lyttel Trophy - picured here with his wife Sheila.

Geoff Rollinson who was awarded The Kath Dryden Award for his work with the Genus Androsace.  Geoff also received a Farrer Medal, Ione Hecker Trophy (for an Androsace!) and his 24th Gold Bar.

Mike & Louise Overton, members of the Birmingham Group, receiving their Local Group Award.

Bob & Di Dark who are active local group members and Show Secretaries with their Local Group Award.

The Society was delighted to welcome Michael Kammerlander who gave the E B Anderson Memorial Lecture after the presentation of the Show Awards in the afternoon.

Michael Kammerlander answering questions at the end of his lecture, pictured here with Mike Bramley from the Chesterfield Group who gave the official vote of thanks.

Show Awards
Here is a random selection of Show Award recipients.  More pictures appear  in the 'Shows News' section.

More Show Award Pictures

Trophies and Medals ready for presentation.

Chloe Eyre - one of the Society's younger exhibitors, receiving her Bronze Medal.

Pictured here is Cecilia Coller, recipient of the Guiseppi Cup, together with her husband Mervyn who was celebrating his 80th birthday.

Cecilia also received - a Farrer Medal, two 80th Anniversary Awards, a Sewell Medal, the Bill MacKenzie Trophy, the Mooney Cup, the Royal Bank of Scotland Trophy, the Walker Trophy and her 32nd and 33rd Gold Bars!

Well done Cecilia  - fantastic achievement.

Don & Heather Hyde receiving their 4th Gold Bar.

The Society's Assistant Editor, Robert Rolfe receiving a Farrer Medal and the Crocus Spoon.

Ray Drew, Assistant Director of Shows, receiving his 5th Gold Bar.

Mike & Christine Brown who had won one of the special 80th Anniversary Awards, one of which was awarded at each show this year.  They also received two Farrer Medals.

Diane Clement - taking time out from compiling the AGS Seed List, to receive her 2nd Gold Bar.

[ Full list of News ]
[ Printable Version in separate window ]