Alpine Garden Society

01386 554790
All topics Members' On-Line Discussion, All discussion threads for Propagation (seed, cuttings, etc)

Propagation (seed, cuttings, etc): Gentianella campestris Seed germination

To make contributions or to send emails to other contributors Login

Started by: Sarah Curtis

How best to germinate Germinate Gentianella campestris (field gentian) seed

Go to latest contribution by Sarah Curtis, 09 December 2011, 09:21. Go to bottom of this page.

Contribution from Sarah Curtis 05 December 2011, 15:03top / bottom of page
Student request

I'm a student at SA/RBGE and my Hons project is on Gentianella campestris. I have some wild collected seed and i'm looking for information from anyone who has germinated thisand or grown it either successfully or unsuccessfully. Any help at all will be greatly appreciated.

PS. I have permissions and consents for the seed I collected.

Contribution from Margaret Young 05 December 2011, 15:40top / bottom of page

It is some time since we grew Gentianella campestris and we never had much success in getting a good seed set from garden grown plants.

Seed sown now and left outside to get the benefit of cold stratification will germinate in early Spring. We would sow in a general seed mix of loam/leafmould and sand by equal volumes. The seed, while not long-lived, does not appear to be overly fussy as to depth of sowing. Seed either sown halfway down a seed pot or just under the surface covering of gravel seems to do just as well. Once seedlings are growing on strongly, a little light feeding can be given... though we more often than not forgot to do that and the plants still made reasonable rosettes and flowered in their secong full season. As I say, the lack of good seed set on the resulting plants was a disappointment and so we were not able to keep the plant in cultivation over a long period.

Contribution from Tim Ingram 05 December 2011, 16:15top / bottom of page