Alpine Garden Society

01386 554790
All topics Members' On-Line Discussion, All discussion threads for Any Other Topics

Any Other Topics: On-line Show

To make contributions or to send emails to other contributors Login

Started by: John Richards

Saxifraga 'Peter Pan'

Go to latest contribution by Diane Clement, 27 February 2009, 09:55. Go to bottom of this page.

Contribution from John Richards 12 February 2009, 18:06top / bottom of page

I was very surprised to read the comment of the anonymous judge (is there only one??) that Saxifraga 'Peter Pan', entered by Diane Clement, was NAS because it was a form of 'S. moschata' (presumably S. exarata subsp. moschata was meant) rather than a hybrid. I am no expert on mossy saxifrages, but Malcolm McGregor undoubtedly is. Inhis magnificent new book 'Saxifrages', which I very strongly recommend, he makes it clear (p.243 onwards) that all mossy saxifrage hybrids started with crosses between S. exarata subsp. moschata crossed with S. rosacea, named S. x elegantissima by Engler. Hundreds of cultivars were raised, many of which have been lost since, and mossy hybrids have had a very complex history. However there seems no doubt that all the red flowered plants have S. x elegantissima in their ancestry and so are hybrids. It is important that the online judging panel is protected from such arbitary and incorrect decisions.

Contribution from Diane Clement 12 February 2009, 18:41top / bottom of page

John, I am pleased to hear your comments, which agree with mine. I had previously posted my thoughts on 29 Jan in the Shows thread "Re: On-line show: I entered a Saxifraga 'Peter Pan' in the Saxifraga hybrid class and it was marked NAS as it was a ?Named form of S moschata and not a hybrid? The recent book by Malcolm McGregor lists it as a "mossy hybrid" and the Saxifraga Society list it as having unknown or uncertain parentage. I'd be interested in more information please. Who is correct?"