Alpine Garden Society

01386 554790
All topics Members' On-Line Discussion, All discussion threads for Any Other Topics

Any Other Topics: Alpine Garden Path

To make contributions or to send emails to other contributors Login

Started by: Lesley Barrett

Go to latest contribution by Lesley Barrett, 27 February 2015, 09:02. Go to bottom of this page.

Images on this page are shown as thumbnails. Click on an image to enlarge it.

Contribution from Lesley Barrett 20 February 2015, 18:34top / bottom of page

I want to make a little used path in my garden into a shallow alpine bed.

I want to make a little used path in my garden into a shallow alpine bed.  Currently it is just rough tarmac so I was going to start by pulling this up.  I am then going to lay some wooden stepping stones.  In between I want to grow some spreading alpine plants (short ones).  
I am quite new to gardening (and alpines) I would like to know what to put down.  I know the area will need to be well drained, so I have bought some alpine grit and horticultural grit.  I've also bought some top soil (mistake?) and some small pebbles.  I have some liner too to prevent weeds.  It won't be very deep, only a few inches, is this enough?
Hopefully the photo will help.
I would really appreciate some help with this.

Thanks
Lesley

Contribution from Tim Ingram 21 February 2015, 14:03top / bottom of page