Alpine Garden Society

Now is the time to enter the Online Show

01386 554790
All topics Members' On-Line Discussion, All discussion threads for Cultivation (growing techniques)

Cultivation (growing techniques): Scree beds

To make contributions or to send emails to other contributors Login

Started by: Julie Parrott

Go to latest contribution by Julie Parrott, 11 October 2010, 10:41. Go to bottom of this page.

Images on this page are shown as thumbnails. Click on an image to enlarge it.

Contribution from Julie Parrott 14 April 2010, 20:51top / bottom of page
Correct material for Scree beds.

I am a novice who has not been gardening long and also has not used this system before, so I hope everyone will accept my apologies for any mistakes made.

I want to start a discussion on Scree garden making as I am trying to make one for my garden. All the books I have are very vague about the 'Scree Material'. 20% of the scree is compost or leafmould, and then they vaguely say 'add this to the scree material' but do not specify what you use for the scree material. Do you use slate pieces, pebbles, grit, gravel, limestone, etc? How big should the particles of scree material be? I want to buy this stuff from a garden centre but I don't know what size gravel etc, to buy. Please, could someone who has made a scree garden give me advice on this.

Contribution from Judy Rhymes 04 May 2010, 21:43top / bottom of page

Hi Julie

Welcome to the on-line discussion. I am disappointed that no-one has responded to your queries regarding constructing a scree garden.

To be honest, I have absolutely no idea on scree garden construction, but am attaching a couple of photos taken in March and April this year of the scree bed in the AGS garden at Pershore.

I hope this will give you some idea of one type of scree garden and will also prompt other more knowledgeable AGS members to give their advice on types of rock, suitable plants etc.