Alpine Garden Society

01386 554790
Back to List of Entries for Director's diary

Go to bottom

You can add your comments on the content of this diary entry in the ongoing discussion but you need to login first

Director's diary

This entry: AGM,12 November 2012 - Report on the day by Chris McGregor

The Society held its AGM on Saturday, 12 November 2012 at Stratford and it was very well attended with approximately 140 members present.  I hope the text and pictures below give you a flavour of the day.


The day started with the usual Annual Report and Accounts.  For the Annual Report I gave a power point presentation that highlighted the main activities during the year and also acknowledged the contributions made by many volunteers.

This year the Society said goodbye to Val Lee who had completed her term of office and welcomed in David Haselgrove as our new President.

Our Treasurer, Professor John Galloway, gave an overview of the annual accounts and the society's financial situation.  Here you can see John responding to some questions from the audience.

Here you can see the outgoing President, Val Lee, presenting a bouquet of flowers to Julie Slimm upon her reirement as Advertisement Manager.  We are very grateful to Julie for all the work she has done in relation to the advertisements that appear in our Journal.

The formal business was followed by the presentation of the Society's Annual Awards by the new President, David Haselgrove.  The first award was The Clarence Elliott Memorial Trophy for the best feature article in the 2011 Journal.  This went to Martin and Anna-Liisa Sheader for 'The full monte'.


The next literary award was The Lionel and Joyce Bacon Award for the best practical article in the 2011 Journal.  This went to Eric Jarrett for 'Get comfortable with cushions'.


Next was Brenda Newton receiving her Local Group Award to recognise her contribution both to the local group and the shows in the North East.

Another recipient of a Local Group Awards was Betty Thomas for her services to the Birmingham local group, the Birmingham Show and also other society activities such as the seed exchange.  Betty was also chosen to receive the Sussex Weald Silver Jubilee Trophy.  This award was donated by the Sussex Weald Group upon its closure with the wish that it be presented to someone to acknowledge the contribution they had made to a local group.

The Awards of Honour came next and this year there were two recipients, both well known figures on the show scene. 

First came Pat Crossley in recognition of her services to the Ulster Show and the Ulster Group.

Next up was Val Keegan from Dublin who received the Award of Honour in recognition of her services to the Dublin Show and the Dublin local group.

These were followed by the Website Award that this year has gone to Jon Evans.  Jon has made a tremendous contribution to the discussion area of the website with his photographic show reports and garden visits.

The Kath Dryden Award went to John Blanchard for his work on the genus Narcissus over many years.  John has bred many fine seedlings as well as writing the definiive book on wild daffodils.

The final award was the Society's premier award, The Lyttle Trophy.  The chosen recipients were Robin and Sue White (Blackthorn Nursery).  They are both highly skilled and very influential growers of an extremely wide range of alpines and other plants.  Sue specialises in trough planting and propagation and Robin is the recognised inernational authority on the genus Daphne.

In the afternoon the Show Awards were presented by Ray Drew and pictures of these presentations will be uploaded later.


The last event of the day was the E B Anderson Memorial Lecture given by Professor John Good, the 2011 recipient of the Lyttel Trophy.  John treated us to a wonderful talk that was based on his garden in North Wales and the plants he loves to grow.  His talk was informative, immensely entertaining and done with great humour.


Everyone seemed to agree that they whole day had been extremely enjoyable.  There was the opportunity to buy plants and books, socialise over lunch and rounded off with John's delightful talk.  Here are a few more pics of people chatting informally.

In the picture below I am with Dr Christopher Grey-Wilson (previous Editor) and the current webmaster, Jim McGregor. Also in the picture are past President Peter Erskine and past Director Michael Upward.

Here Jim is chatting with Peter Sheasby, the Slide Image Library Custodian, discussing digitising slides for the on-line Encyclopaedia.

Lastly I want to thank the photographer, Doug Joyce.  He spent most of the day snapping off shots of people receiving their awards and medals, as well as catching a few people unawares.  Sadly I didn't manage to get a picture of Doug.

Go to top
Back to List of Entries for Director's diary

You can add your comments on the content of this diary entry in the ongoing discussion but you need to login first